2005 CPEO Military List Archive

From: Lenny Siegel <lsiegel@cpeo.org>
Date: 16 May 2005 23:09:57 -0000
Reply: cpeo-military
Subject: [CPEO-MEF] Representatives seek munitions response funding
On March 18, 2005, Congressman Earl Blumenauer and 39 other Members of Congress sent letters to the leadership of two Congressional committees seeking additional funding, in fiscal year 2006, for munitions response.

The 40 Representatives sent a letter to the Chair and Ranking Member of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on the Military Quality of Life requesting that Munitions Response funding for Formerly Used Defense Sites be increased to $150 million and that Munitions Response be increased by $69 million in the year's Base Realignment and Closure Account.

The same Members also sent a letter to the leadership of the Defense Appropriations Subcommittee, asking for a $10 million increase in the ESTCP (Environmental Security Technology Certification Program) budget for unexploded ordnance-related research and development.

Here is the list of signers:

1. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
2. Donald Manzullo (R-IL)
3. Ellen Tauscher (D-CA)
4. Gary Miller (R-CA)
5. Elijah Cummings (D-MD)
6. Virgil Goode (R-VA)
7. Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
8. Ed Case (D-HI)
9. Sam Farr (D-CA) - only signed the second letter, presumably because he is a member of the Mil Qual subcommittee.
10. Jim McDermott (D-WA)
11. Betty McCollum (D-MN)
12. James McGovern (D-MA)
13. Frank Pallone (D-NJ)
14. Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
15. Anna Eshoo (D-CA)
16. William Delahunt (D-MA)
17. Ken Calvert (R-CA)
18. Jim Davis (D-FL)
19. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ)
20. Sue Kelly (R-NY)
21. Henry Waxman (D-CA)
22. Brad Miller (D-NC)
23. Hilda Solis (D-CA)
24. Janice D. Schakowsky (D-IL)
25. Bernard Sanders (I-VT)
26. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)
27. Harold E. Ford, Jr. (D-TN)
28. Michael Sodrel (R-IN)
29. Bob Etheridge (D-NC)
30. Jay Inslee (D-WA)
31. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
32. Charles A. Gonzales (D-TX)
33. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
34. Vic Snyder (D-AR)
35. G. K. Butterfield (D-NC)
36. John Dingell (D-MI)
37. Ginny Brown-Waite (R-FL)
38. Jerry Weller (R-IL)
39. Greg Walden (R-OR)
40. David Wu (D-OR)

Lenny Siegel
Director, Center for Public Environmental Oversight
c/o PSC, 278-A Hope St., Mountain View, CA 94041
Voice: 650/961-8918 or 650/969-1545
Fax: 650/961-8918

Military mailing list
  Prev by Date: [CPEO-MEF] China Lake cleanup
Next by Date: [CPEO-MEF] 2004 DERP Report now on line
  Prev by Thread: [CPEO-MEF] China Lake cleanup
Next by Thread: [CPEO-MEF] 2004 DERP Report now on line

CPEO Lists
Author Index
Date Index
Thread Index